Muppets and Vampire Squids

“Leadership used to be about ideas, setting an example and doing the right thing. Today, if you make enough money for the firm (and you are not currently an ax murderer), you will be promoted into a position of influence.”

I had no intention of prepping another post on leadership this morning. Then I read the paper. New York Times, OpEd. This will be one of those mornings I’ll remember for a long time because my heart’s still going a mile a minute. Because the column there, “Why I am Leaving Goldman Sachs” is so clear, so strident. Zero B.S. Straight talk. Names named. Lord have mercy, it’s a breath of fresh air not just for the content, but also for the clarity of writing, the emotional honesty of the writer’s voice.

I am well aware of the irony: a Captain of Rogue Capitalism bemoans the erosion of ethics in his world. Ethics? Really? I’m not a client. I have never been and will never be pursued as such. I’ve got my two cents squirreled away in the sleepy, safe, dusty padded rooms of low-low-low return “investment.” But the rudderless, heartless, unprincipled way of doing business that Greg Smith describes feels rife even in my life. And we’ve simply got to change that. All of us. Insist upon for ourselves, model and teach that leadership is about service (as my dear friend, Dr. Lynne Morrow preaches daily). That everything is about service. Therein lies both our happiness and our value. Whew! Nothing like some truth-telling to get this girl preaching too. Hope you read the article and find it stirs you as well.

Come join me for a conversation about leadership at the Women’s Power Strategy Conference in Marin County, CA on Saturday March 24. 
 
Artwork from Whimsy Dreams blog.

About Amanda McTigue

Author. Director. Teacher. My debut novel, GOING TO SOLACE was named one of four "Best Reads of 2012" by public radio's KRCB "Word by Word." A collection of short stories, "Convergence," is due out in 2015. A second novel, "Monkey Bottom," will follow.
This entry was posted in Expression, I:DEAS, Identity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Muppets and Vampire Squids

  1. Frances says:

    With a blog title like that, I couldn’t resist reading this post. If I weren’t having surgery, I too would be attending the Women’s Power Strategy Conference. Be sure to tell me all about it!

  2. Amanda McTigue says:

    Wishing you well, Frances. Hope you’re up and around in the blink of an eye. I know! The language of the money-grabbers–chewy and evocative. Thx for checking in.

  3. Brian Grove says:

    Hi Amanda,

    I like your site, you have some interesting posts. My site http://www.myperfectpitch.com compliments yours, consisting of interesting articles from a published author, and a free writers yearbook with over 1000 book publishers currently accepting submissions. Keep up the good work.

    Regards, Brian

Leave a Reply

