The Soul of Patience

Thinking about Writing (and Painting)

A NOVEL DELAYED

I see how these blogs work now. I thought I’d do a quick post of thanks to those of you who are already in line for my novel, “Going to Solace,” because, yea verily even within these bloggings have I announced that said book would be forthcoming at the end of this year when, only a week ago, my publisher suggested we wait until 2012. For very good reasons. Ducks being lined up. i’s being dotted. All of those hatches to be battened down before the book arrives. I’m in total agreement. But impatient. Which gave rise to my admiring the soul of patience some of you have already shown. Which gave further rise to a question: whence comes the phrase? (You see? These blogs can be devilish…) It’s one thing to say that you are a patient soul; it’s another to refer to the “soul of patience.” Does this mean that Patience itself has a soul, an essence? Such a great thought. And what would that essence be beyond patience? Or does it refer to a soul that is characterized by patience? I googled the etymology oh so briefly and came up with nought. So I’m voting Patience with a soul. Poor Patience, she’s so undervalued these days, and so needed. 2012 seems an eternity from now, but will no doubt feel like the blink of an eye once we’re there. I hope it doesn’t feel like eternity to you. Ponder Patience’s soul as I thank you, the patient ones in my life, for hanging in with me. Cheers to you all. (By the way, speaking of patient, the image above is not a photo. It’s a close-up of a Flemish painting. A study of patience rendered with infinite patience. A treasure…)

© i.e. ideas expressed 2011

About Amanda McTigue

Author. Director. Teacher. My debut novel, GOING TO SOLACE was named one of four "Best Reads of 2012" by public radio's KRCB "Word by Word." A collection of short stories, "Convergence," is due out in 2015. A second novel, "Monkey Bottom," will follow.
This entry was posted in I:DEAS, LIFE, PAGE, Publishing, The Little Things, Uncategorized, Writers and Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Soul of Patience

  1. John McTigue says:

    Just a suggestion. Start releasing snippets of the book via the blog. That way you satisfy your early subscribers at least somewhat, and you start to build interest towards next year. That’s why movie trailers are so effective. Don’t give it all away, just a taste now and then and comment in the blog about what you were thinking when you wrote the passage.

  2. amctigue says:

    Great idea. It’s in the works. Just polishing the final-final now. Love the idea of sharing what I was thinking when… though I’m so often in a fog when I write. But that will be some good archaeology, to dig back through some drafts and outlines. Thx again.

  3. Pat says:

    Van Eyck…right

    • amctigue says:

      I shoulda known you’d know. Went crazy in the Neue Gallerie in Berlin. No one in there but us and a guy playing Chopin in the lobby (fab way to do a museum). No guards, no nothing. Took buckets of these kinds of shots. Cheers to you!

Leave a Reply

