How do you solve…

…a problem like Amanda?
 

THOUGHTS ON A WRITER’S IDENTITY

Hey, sports fans, I’m acutely aware that this is Blog Numero Uno. The Seed Blog. But I’m sorry to say, I can’t come up with a headline. I have no thesis statement. Amanda: she’s a __________. What’s the pithy fill-in for that particular blank? There is a thread to my life, a filament at best. I call it “writing,” but really, for me, writing is the end point of a process (in print) or the blueprint for a process (in performance). And it’s the process that counts. Meanwhile, who’s this “I” who’s writing? What’s her nature? Unpinnable. I never know exactly where I am. (Thank you Oscar Hammerstein and Erwin Schrödinger.) Is that what it’s like for you? Are you “all over the place?” If so, is that the description of a rich life or a euphemism for confusion?

© i.e. ideas expressed 2011

About Amanda McTigue

Author. Director. Teacher. My debut novel, GOING TO SOLACE was named one of four "Best Reads of 2012" by public radio's KRCB "Word by Word." A collection of short stories, "Convergence," is due out in 2015. A second novel, "Monkey Bottom," will follow.
This entry was posted in Identity, LIFE, Writers and Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How do you solve…

  1. Patricia says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Ms. Amanda. : )

    • amctigue says:

      Cannot wait to pick your brain about how to manage this. Meanwhile, I’m experimenting. Big love as you head east. Hope the trip is a blast.

  2. John McTigue says:

    Congrats Sis. I know exactly who you are and where you live. Put $500 million in a Swiss numbered account for me and I will keep my mouth shut. Knock ’em dead!

  3. Amanda,
    The guide I use in writing blog posts is to choose a subject that I feel passionate about. The difficulty I find is in staying succinct. I have several drafts that have never been published about topics that became unwieldy in their length. And yes, welcome!

    • amctigue says:

      Jeez, Linda, don’t I know it! It will take me a minute to get my sea legs in this form. I’m going to take your suggestion and draft ahead a little bit, because things get better with edit time in my world too. Cheers!

  4. Rebecca says:

    How did I miss this! Starting at the beginning and working my way forward. Welcome, dearest friend, to the blog-o-sphere! But oh, this world will be richer for it. Big love xoxoxo r

Leave a Reply

